AzMT was formed July 01, 2012 by the cities of Apache Junction, Avondale, El Mirage and the Town of Youngtown as a means for public entities in Maricopa, Pima and Pinal counties to regain control over their employee benefit programs. Since its inception, AzMT has grown to include Buckeye Valley Fire District, City of Litchfield Park, Town of Fountain Hills, Town of Paradise Valley, Sun City Fire District and Town of Wickenburg and now covers over 2,750 employees. Governed by a Board of Trustees, AzMT has already enjoyed outstanding success, moving into a substantial surplus position as we enter our 10th year.

If your agency is tired of dealing with insurance companies and wants to gain more control over benefit costs, the Arizona Metropolitan Trust may be exactly what you are looking for.

Being part of AzMT allows you to have a seat at the table when it comes to benefit offerings, design and rates.

Governance, Membership Eligibility & Terms

AzMT is governed by a Board of Trustees comprised of one Trustee and one Alternate Trustee per participating entity. AzMT membership is available to cities, towns, special districts and any non-school public entity as defined under ARS § 11-952.01.

Membership terms are a minimum of three years, with the initial membership term set to align the new entity with AzMT’s July 01—June 30 fiscal and plan years. Entities electing to leave AzMT upon completion of their membership terms are eligible for readmission after a three-year absence.